football Edit

The Riddell Footwear All-American Team

normal'>Top players, coaches named to Riddell Footwear All-American Football Team
The best high school football players and coaches from
throughout the country have been named to the 2001 Riddell Footwear
All-American Football Team. The 22-member team as well as six regional coaches and one national
coach of the year represent an elite group of players and coaches from
throughout the nation.
“Riddell Footwear is proud to sponsor this team which
recognizes the best of the best in high school football.
The heritage of Riddell Footwear is in
football, so our association with the team is very fitting and gratifying,”
said Chip Walther, national sales manager at Riddell Footwear.
Nominations for the team were made by position bi-weekly
throughout the football season, and were found along with in-depth profiles
about each candidate on both and
After careful evaluation, the final
selections were announced this week. 
“The players were chosen based not only on athletic ability
and performance, but also on their hard work and dedication to become the best
football players they can be,” said Bobby Burton, director of network
development for “This is obviously a tremendous honor for these
young people. To be picked from tens of
thousands to be one of an elite group of 22 is an awesome achievement.
“In evaluating the nation’s best coaches, we were looking
for those that either have a long tradition of success or who really did
something special with their team this year. We think the six coaches selected epitomize
what is good about high school coaching today.”
Quarterback - Vincent
Young, Houston (Texas) Madison High School
Running Back – Lorenzo
Booker Ventura (Calif.) St. Bonaventure High School
Running Back – Gerald Riggs
Jr. Chattanooga (Tenn.) Red Bank High School
Wide Receiver – Ryan
Moore Orlando (Fla.) Dr. Phillips High School
Wide Receiver – Rhema
McKnight LaPalma (Calif.) Kennedy High School
Tight End – Curtis
Justus Perry (Okla.) High School
Offensive Line – Derek
Landri Concord (Calif.) De La Salle High School
Offensive Line – Brandon
Jeffries Shelby (N.C.) Crest High School
Offensive Line – Derek
Morris Huntersville (N.C.) North Mecklenburg High School
Offensive Line – Kyle
Williams Dallas (Texas) Highland Park High School
Line – Mike
Kolodziej Joliet (Ill.) Catholic High School
Defensive Line – Haloti
Ngata Salt Lake City (Utah) Highlands High School
Defensive Line – Tamba
Hali Teaneck (N.J.) High School
Defensive Line – Rodrique
Wright Alief (Texas) Hastings High School
Defensive Line – Julian
Jenkins College Park (Ga.) Woodward Academy
Linebacker – Mike
D’Andrea Avon Lake (Ohio) High School
Linebacker – Nate
Harris Miami (Fla.) Edison High School
Linebacker – Ricardo
Harley Greenwood (S.C.) High School
Defensive Back – Leon
Washington Jacksonville (Fla.) Jackson High School
Defensive Back – Chris
Davis St. Petersburg (Fla.) Catholic High School
Defensive Back – Darnell
Bing Long Beach (Calif.) Poly High School
Defensive Back – Darren
Williams Clarksdale (Miss.) High School
Riddell Footwear Regional Football
Coaches of the Year
South – Dean Boyd,
Bennettsville (S.C.) Marlboro County High School
Southwest – Alan Trimble – Jenks
(Okla.) High School
Atlantic – Butch Simpson – Newark
(Dela.) High School
East – Mark Schmidt
Langhorne (Pa.) Neshaminy High School
Midwest – Jim Lemen
St. Louis John Burroughs High School
West – Bob Ladouceur
Concord (Calif.) De La Salle High School 
National Coach of the Year
Bob Ladouceur
– Concord (Calif.) De La Salle High School
For more on the coaches, please
follow this link to the coach
For more information, contact: Bobby Burton at
(713) 880-0452 or Chip Walther at (314) 432-7171.