Rivals.com - Its academic: NCAA reveals APR sanctions
football Edit

Its academic: NCAA reveals APR sanctions

Tsk, tsk
Here's a list of the 11 FBS (i.e., Division I-A) programs that were hit with scholarship sanctions. (There were 17 last year.) The typical limit is 85 scholarships.
Bowling Green: Limit of 77 next year
Buffalo: 84
Florida Atlantic: 84
Kent State: 80
Louisiana-Lafayette: 84
Minnesota: 82
Ole Miss: 82
New Mexico State: 81
North Texas: 79
San Diego State: 84
San Jose State: 80
NOTE: In addition to scholarship sanctions, San Jose State also will receive practice restrictions. UAB doesn't have scholarship restrictions, but it will receive practice restrictions.
Here's a list of the 38 Division I men's basketball programs hit by scholarship sanctions. (There were 53 last year). The typical limit is 13 scholarships.
Arkansas: Public notice
Auburn: Limit of 12 next year
Ball State: 11
Chattanooga: 12
Colorado: 12
Delaware State: 12
Eastern Washington: Public notice
George Washington: 12
Georgia Southern: 12
Georgia State: 12
Georgia Tech: 11
Grambling: Public notice
Illinois-Chicago: 12
Indiana: 11
Jacksonville State: 12
Kennesaw State: 11
Louisiana Tech: 12
Morgan State: 12
Ohio State: 11
Oral Roberts: 12
Pepperdine: 11
Portland State: 11
Prairie View: Public notice
Purdue: 12
San Francisco: 11
South Carolina: 12
Southeast Missouri: 12
Southern Utah: 12
Tennessee: 12
Tennessee-Martin: 12
Texas A&M-Corpus Christi: 12
Texas Southern: 11
Texas State: 12
UAB: 12
UC-Santa Barbara: 12
UT- San Antonio: 12
Western Illinois: 12
NOTE: Centenary is banned from NCAA postseason play because of long-term low APR scores. In addition to scholarship sanctions, Jacksonville State, Louisiana Tech, Portland State, Texas Southern, Texas State, UAB, UC-Santa Barbara and UTSA also will receive practice restrictions. Maryland-Eastern Shore, New Mexico State and Southeastern Louisiana don't have scholarship restrictions, but they will receive practice restrictions.
Georgia Tech, Indiana and Ohio State will lose two men's basketball scholarships apiece for not graduating enough players, the NCAA announced Wednesday with the release of its Academic Progress Rates.
Minnesota and Ole Miss each lost three football scholarships.
Those were the only programs from the so-called "Big Six" conferences to lose multiple scholarships in one of the two major sports – football or men's basketball.
Centenary men's basketball and Chattanooga football (a Football Championship Subdivision program) received postseason bans for posting a multi-year APR below 900 for three consecutive years without showing measurable improvement. This marked the first year the NCAA instituted the postseason ban.
Every Division I sports team calculates its APR each academic year based on the eligibility, retention and graduation of each student-athlete on scholarship. Teams with two consecutive years of underperformance are subject to scholarship losses or restrictions of practice time. A postseason ban applies after three years of poor performance, while a fourth year of underperformance can result in possible restricted Division I membership for an entire athletic department.
"After five years of APR application and data collection, there is clear evidence of upward trends in nearly every sport," NCAA president Myles Brand said in a statement. "Especially encouraging are the increases in baseball, football and men's basketball – the three sports that have historically been problem sports."
A total of 75 teams received "historically based" penalties for not earning an APR of 900 or higher. Schools receive a public warning for their first violation and get stiffer penalties after repeated underperformance.
Bowling Green football will lose eight scholarships, the most of any Football Bowl Subdivision program. North Texas lost six scholarships, Kent State and San Jose State lost five and New Mexico State lost four.
Division I men's basketball programs losing two scholarships aside from Georgia Tech, Indiana and Ohio State were Ball State, Kennesaw State, Pepperdine and San Francisco. IUPUI lost three.
The "major conference" programs to lose one scholarship are Auburn, Colorado, Purdue, South Carolina and Tennessee.
The overall four-year APR is 964, an increase of three points from last year. Football posted an average APR of 939, men's basketball recorded a 933 and baseball posted a 946. Those figures represented increases in all three sports.
Steve Megargee is a national writer for Rivals.com. He can be reached at smegargee@rivals.com.